Page 1 of 1

ASME welding tee insertion

Posted: Wed Jul 01, 2020 5:20 pm
by VicenteLG
Hi,

Is it possible to simplify Tee data entry dialog for ASME welding Tees?, ASME welding tees have same wall thickness like pipes where are inserted to join. The SIF calculation is different for welding tees from fabricated Tees if we just leave "0" values in the Tee data entry dialog.

Regards,

Re: ASME welding tee insertion

Posted: Wed Jul 01, 2020 7:09 pm
by Alex Matveev
The length, height, crotch radius are mostly needed for EN and GOST tees. The tee can be the same pressure rating as the connected pipe and have greater wall thickness or it can be lower pressure rating but have the same wall thickness.

If you are using the first option, you can specify the tee length , height and wall thickness. START-PROF will add 3 additional nodes near the tee element. And use the greater wall thickness of the pipe elements connected to the tee. The SIF values will be different and the piping system flexibility will be more accurate. https://www.passuite.com/kbase/doc/star ... oiniki.htm
int_1.jpg
int_1.jpg (18.16 KiB) Viewed 6057 times
For the second option you can just leave the fields with a zero values. START-PROF will not add the additional nodes in this case.

For ASME codes it is almost not used, the tee length and height is zero.

Re: ASME welding tee insertion

Posted: Thu Jul 02, 2020 4:46 pm
by Alex Matveev
Added explanation to START-PROF online help system:
2020-07-02_19-52-41.jpg
2020-07-02_19-52-41.jpg (139.33 KiB) Viewed 6050 times